Cinnamon Raisin Mandel Bread (paleo, kosher)

I’m a huge fan of tradition, and holidays are a big deal to me! I love preparing feasts on holidays, birthdays, any excuse really! So I did some research on traditional Easter dinners, and decided to go with a Passover feast! This bread is moist, soft, and perfectly sweet. It’s similar to biscotti, but with a coffee cake texture.

History of Mandelbrodt- This is a Yiddish word, which means Almond Bread. The bread itself is copied from the Italian biscotti, however the Eastern Jewish recipe is very moist and soft. Traditionally it is made with Matzo Cake Meal, but I wanted something with more nutrient and protein content. If you have a Gluten Free Matzo Cake Mix, use that in place of the flour if you’d like! I love this bread!! It may be my new favorite! It’s nutritious enough to be served for breakfast in the morning, or as an after dinner dessert served with decaf coffee πŸ™‚ The recipe is so easy to make and it feeds 20 slices easily.

IMG_7848

Recipe traditionally makes 2 loaves, in preparation for a feast served to a large group of people! I can’t believe it’s 2 loaves, and takes about 10min of prep time! Lasts about 3 days covered room temperature.

 

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour (could use arrowroot powder, but I haven’t tested that. Tapioca is lower calorie which is why I chose it)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil melted
  • 1 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup raisins

Using a high speed mixer, combine all wet ingredients except coconut oil. Keeping the mixer on high speed, slowly pour the melted coconut oil in. Once liquid is all combined, add dry ingredients. The mixture is very thin, slightly runny in consistency. Pour half of mixture into very well greased loaf pan, and pour the other half into another loaf pan. I didn’t have 2 loaf pans, so I poured the other half into a 8×8 cake dish. Slowly crumble your raisins into each mixture. They will sink to the bottom of the pan, so be sure they are evenly distributed. I didn’t grease my loaf pan well enough, and the raisins stuck to the bottom! It still was sliceable though πŸ™‚ it didn’t stick at all to the glass pan.

IMG_7835

Bake 375 for 30-40 min! Let cool 40min before serving. Shalom aleichem!!

IMG_7837

 

 

Leave a Reply

