Wisdom isn’t competitive!

 

Do not be excessively righteous and do not be overly wise. Why should you ruin yourself?

-Ecclesiastes 7:16 NASB

In our world the pressure to “one-up” each other is constant, and the need to be better than others is in the back of our minds even if we won’t acknowledge it. Subconsciously, the competition is there. Have you ever walked into a conversation and realized that you can’t keep up with the intellectual status of those present? Immediately, we try to sound wise and act like we know everything in hopes of impressing those we’re talking to. Why? Because we want acceptance! We want to be recognized and praised. I encourage you today to check your motives, and accept when you don’t know something. Accept when someone is more knowledgable than you, instead of stepping up your competitive nature. The real proof of wisdom can be shown by taking the humble route, and instead encourage someone else in their knowledge. When you take the time to beef up someone else, you’re exercising true maturity and wisdom.

Who among you is wise and understanding? Let him show by his good behavior his deeds in the gentleness of wisdom.
-James 3:13 NASB

I don’t want to recognized for having a loud mouth and a know-it-all attitude! I want to learn, I want to receive, and I want to uplift those who speak wisdom that I don’t yet have! When I take the time to listen, I’m setting myself up to grow, and to receive new knowledge that I can apply into my own life.

He who restrains his words has knowledge,
And he who has a cool spirit is a man of understanding. Even a fool, when he keeps silent, is considered wise;
When he closes his lips, he is considered intelligent.

-Proverbs 17:27-28

It’s immediately evident when someone doesn’t know what they’re talking about!! Proverbs says it’s better to be silent, so that you would be considered intelligent. That’s SO smart! What a great idea…keep your mouth shut, and you’ll appear to know more than if you started rambling about random things. Thanks for that tip…I’d like a “cool spirit” so I guess I’ll just stay silent when I don’t know the answer to something. Genius, really! When we think of a wise person, do we think of someone who talks a lot? Not me, I usually think of Pastor Bill Johnson when I think of wisdom. Actually, his picture should be in the dictionary next to the word “wise”. That man can say 2 words that are so deep and completely blow your mind!! Saying less is always more!

So when it comes down to it, let’s open our ears, shut our mouths, and receive wisdom when we need to hear it. You might actually learn something when you’re done babbling 😉

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wisdom isn’t competitive!

  1. Hello,
    My name is daisy. I’m from Mexico!
    I started reading your site,
    when I started reading “Wisdom isn’t competitive!” this impact my life!
    I’m currently studying college and work at the same time…It is very difficult for me.
    I felt so bad about myself .. because there are times I want to be better than other people…
    there are times when I have fear of not achieving what I want.
    Always speak much for wanting to prove to be better than others.
    this has reached the limit .I wanted to change my life.
    I am a Christian, I love God and I did not want to do this anymore.
    when I finish reading this .I asked God to help me and make a change in my life.
    I can now think differently! Thank God!
    and thank you so much for you .for this word that impact my life!
    God bless your life! 🙂

  2. This is so good! God has definitely been dealing with me about this. especially at work where I always want to appear competent. God was showing me I can ruin my witness for him if i don’t learn to be humble and stay quiet! Thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

