Paleo Vanilla Birthday Cake, with “Diva” Caramel Frosting

Ella loves Vanilla cake, just like me! She specifically didn’t want cupcakes though, so I had to scrounge up some ingredients to make a cake. She had 2 parties, one with family, and one with friends. The first cake I made for the family birthday was good….but the second try was WAY better. As Ella would say, “Nailed it!”

The reason I called the caramel frosting “diva” is because in Redding we had a cupcake shop called SweetSpot. They had “Diva” cupcakes….caramel vanilla amazingness. These were Ella’s favorite, so I tried to recreate it! This frosting can be slathered on anything….oh my word I’m drooling just remembering how delicious it was!! If you try this recipe, be sure to tag me using my hashtag! #fitmamaq

I’m sorry I don’t have better photos! I was in a rush so I forgot to take pictures of the sliced cake!!

 

IMG_9392

 

Vanilla Cake

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil melted
  • 1/4 cup almond milk or coconut milk
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbls vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup or honey (I prefer maple syrup)

Combine wet ingredients first, except the coconut oil. Then add dry ingredients. Be sure to blend everything in food processor or use hand mixer so it’s not clumpy. Add melted coconut oil last, mix well. Pour into greased 9×9 baking dish. I baked mine in a flat pan so it would look like sandy beach. Bake 325 for 25-30min. Let cool completely before frosting.

IMG_9448

Diva Caramel Frosting

  • 1 & 1/4 cup vegan palm shortening OR quality organic butter, softened
  • 3 egg whites (you can sub 2tbs full fat coconut cream here***)
  • 3/4 cup coconut sugar (this gives the caramel color and flavor)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs tapioca flour (or arrowroot powder)

Combine egg whites, sugar, and salt in a metal bowl over a pot of simmering water. Whisk constantly until mixture is warm and sugar has dissolved. Taking the metal bowl off heat, start to whisk immediately using high speed mixer. Either a hand mixer or kitchenaid. Mixture should start to peak, about 10 min. Keeping mixture on medium speed, add shortening or butter a few tablespoons at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla extract at the end. Let set in refrigerator about 30min if piping. Frosting keeps at room temperature for 2 days.

**If you’d rather leave out the egg whites, using full fat coconut cream instead– Set the can of full fat coconut milk in refrigerator over night. Open can without shaking, scrape just the top cream out of the can, leaving the clear coconut water behind. Save for smoothies! Over low heat, warm the coconut sugar and salt with 1tbs water, stirring constantly until completely dissolved. Then add to the rest of the ingredients like above, whisking high speed.

 

(Here is a photo of my cupcake recipe from Aria’s birthday party, with the caramel frosting instead of strawberry!)

 

 

IMG_9472

 

3 thoughts on “Paleo Vanilla Birthday Cake, with “Diva” Caramel Frosting

  1. Hi Alyssa! I have a question about protein powders. I’m a vegan and slightly “fluffy” from my baby weight. Plan to hit my workout routine hard starting Monday. I’m also wanting to try out the raw till 4 diet while doing this. But will I NEED protein powder in a diet or can I just eat my unlimited proper calories as the plan suggests and let the workouts burn my current fat supply? I’m fine with doing what I need to do for my body (as long as I can avoid animal product) but your suggestions on supplementation and replacement would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!! 💗Kristi

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. This is so amazing!! I was madly eating the remaining dough from my blender. I’m so excited for my daughter to try it. She too wanted vanilla cake for her birthday 🙂

  3. Would it work to use xylitol, stevia or swirve for the maple syrup component? My husband and I are currently in a detox but it’s his birthday next week and would love to make this for him!

Leave a Reply

